The Castle of Monemvasia, which dates back to the 6th century A.D., is considered to be one of the greatest and most beautiful sights in the Peloponnese. The only way to access the castle is through a narrow patch of land which links together the rock with the coast through a wooden bridge. That’s where the name “Monemvasia” comes from, that is “unique entrance”. The castle was flourishing in the byzantine period, during which well-known byzantine churches were built next to it.
Castle of Mistra (Sparta)
The Castle of Mistras and its currently desolate town are located northwest of the city of Sparta at a distance of 6 km north of Mount Taygetos. The steep hill, on which this castle was built, was called Mistras or Mizithras and due to its advantageous position it constituted an almost unassailable fortress. The history of the castle begins in the mid 13th century and more particularly in 1249. This town for many centuries was a cultural centre. Nowadays visitors can admire not only the Castle and the four abandoned settlements but also great post-byzantine churches and various other historic buildings. Since 1989 the Castle of Mistras has been regarded as a cultural object and it has been designated in the list of the World Cultural Heritage Sites.
Saint George in Geraki
Saint George in Geraki is a double-aisled temple, which dates back to the 11th century A.D. During the Frankish period some additions were made to the temple, such as a third aisle to the west. Saint George in Geraki is characterized by great wall paintings of a byzantine style,which to the present day remain in good condition. It is important to mention the icon of Panagia Aristerokratousa that decorates the templon of the church.
Tomb of Leonidas – Archaeological Site Leonideon (Sparta)
The most significant monument in contemporary Sparta is the tomb of Leonidas, which is located to the north of the city. This tomb was discovered after excavations that took place in 1892 and it became known as Leonideon. It is an ancient building which looks like a temple and it dates back to approximately the 5th century B.C. The building is 12.5 x 8.30 m. and it has been constructed using only large tufa.